Back after a break… (AKA don’t leave your work until the last minute)

Hi everyone, I hope you are all well!

First of all, i would like to apologise for not posting a blog article since April (i think!). Due to a number of reasons, including my health, but mainly due to an immense amount of stress over my first year PhD report, i have just not found the time to write.

But anyway, now i’m back! I handed my first year report in earlier this week, and was attending a microbiology conference in Dublin this week (separate blog post detailing this coming soon!).

I said to myself many months ago that i would give myself plenty of time to read for and write my first year PhD report, which consisted of a 3000 word literature review, and a 3000 word report on my methods, results and future plans. As the weeks passed, and the deadline drew nearer, i attempted to do some reading and make notes – with little success. Yet i managed to stay calm.

Then it got to three weeks before the deadline. Although i had read many many papers, my report was a bit ‘skinny’. Then the panic set in. I won’t go into the details of those three weeks, but suffice to say it consisted of many sleepless and late nights, ridiculous stress-levels, and culminated in me adding the finishing touches to the report whilst i was at the conference – at 4 am in the morning…

In hindsight: give yourself enough time to do work! This may sound stupid, especially after many late nights as an undergraduate, but the sooner you learn this, the easier your life will be!

So back to the blog. I have had a few ideas for some articles that i want to write, which i will start working on soon, and i can’t wait to share with you. There is even a possibility of a running series of articles… Meanwhile, i have another post lined-up, talking about the conference i attended this week.

I am on a well deserved holiday in Malta next week, so i intend to start working on these as soon as i am back!

Many thanks for reading, and welcome back!

Microbe Stew

3 thoughts on “Back after a break… (AKA don’t leave your work until the last minute)

Leave a Reply

